30 Day BOOKS Challenge – Day 2

Day 2:Β The environment you most enjoy reading in

Once upon a time, I had the superpower of reading anywhere I wanted. The environment didn’t matter at all. I have read with my legs up on the window sills, head dangling from my bed, under the bed (monsters were my buddies πŸ˜› ) and even…in the bathroom because I needed to finish a novel during my exams!! I have taken my books to people’s homes and read while eating on the table, boxing of ears from parents notwithstanding. I have read in every climate imaginable and without any distractions.

With a 9 to 5 (add two more hours to it) job, which requires me glued to the screen doesn’t exactly help my cause. I can no more read sitting upright and have major distractions on the way. That explains my long pending book and reading lists…

Ideally, give me a quiet room with a cup of coffee and a bed with loads of cushions and a blanket, and I will happily tuck myself in and read pages after pages ❀ Β The other alternative is reading in the balcony post lunch. πŸ˜€

What is your favourite environment that gets you reading?

 

16 thoughts on “30 Day BOOKS Challenge – Day 2

  1. I can still read anywhere, anytime!! I read in bathrooms, I read after hastily finishing up my lunch in the remaining lunch hour, I sacrifice my sleep (which is much, because I value my sleep very much!)! And yes, I can read and escape to a different world, oblivious to people / atmosphere around me! Books comfort me, I don’t need any other comforts when I read !!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      • Different. Morning is mostly my current fiction (though I am reading a memoir about living with early-onset dementia at the moment). After lunch is research for my writing… or catching up with the fiction for one of my reading groups. Nighttime is old-fashioned historical romance that I know off by heart, so it won’t keep me awake. The odd poem creeps in as well. This suits me, but I’m not sure I’d recommend this regime to anyone else. Lucky we’re all different.

        Like

Leave a Reply

