30 Day BOOKS Challenge – Day 16

Day 16: Favourite title

The title of a book is always alluring, at least to me. It is the title that makes me notice the blurb of the book  and decide to put in in the shopping cart ! 😛 Some books have simple title, some have complex ones and others have quirky ones. There are ghastly titles as well, which literally chokes me on the spot with horror.

Anyway, the point here is to share my favourite book title with you. That would be – Chokher Bali. It is a book by Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore, written in Bengali (my mother tongue). It translates to – Grit of sand in the eye. It is an allegory to the friction between its characters, just like a tiny grain of sand in our eyes causing constant irritation. This is all I can reveal without giving away the plot. The book is also translated in English, in case you want to have a go through historical fiction set in India.

P.S. I would also love to mention – And Then Like My Dreams which is by a fellow blogger MR. Isn’t it an apt title for a memoir? Warm and inviting 🙂

18 thoughts on “30 Day BOOKS Challenge – Day 16

  1. We have studied about Tagore a lot, but none of us know the meaning of the title of any of the works 😦

    Btw, Happy New Year from me and the Lionhearted one 😀

    Like

  2. Heheh 😛 Btw, I wanted to ask you that whether ATLMD your first and only choice for the book? If yes, then kudos for not wavering!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

