Reader’s Nook: QA with Jen

Image Source: Flickr

Image Source: Flickr

Jen Minkman (1978) was born in the Netherlands and lived in Austria, Belgium, and the UK. She learned how to read at the age of three and has never stopped reading since! Her favorite books to read are YA paranormal, dystopian, and romance, and this is reflected in the stories she writes. In her home country, she is a trade-published author of young adult novels with Storm Publishers.
She lives in The Hague where she lives with her husband and two noisy zebra finches.

Link to the first book in her latest book series: http://www.amazon.com/Sound-Sirens-Ta…

My Note: Jen is a lovely, warm person whom you will love talking to! I came across her on Goodreads. Do read her book, which I bet would be a lovely read!


 Name 5-10 of your most favourite books
Tough question! I read so much that it’s difficult to stick to just ten. But the following books are guaranteed classics for me:
The Martian Chronicles – Ray Bradbury
Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
The Prophet – Khalil Gibran
The Mother Earth Trilogy – Thea Beckman
The Venus duology (Torenhoog & Mijlenbreed, Ogen van Tijgers) – Tonke Dragt
De Torens van Februari – Tonke Dragt
Station Eleven – Emily St John Mantel
Twilight / New Moon – Stephenie Meyer
The Hunger Games trilogy – Suzanne Collins
Chess novel – Stefan Zweig
The silence of the sea – Vercors

Some books on this list are by Dutch authors, so it’s unlikely anybody knows them outside of Holland!

A book that you have re-read the most
That must be the Mother Earth trilogy by Thea Beckman. I don’t know if it’s ever been translated, but I suggest you give it a try. Post-apocalyptic fiction before it was hip and happening.

Favourite authors and why
Ray Bradbury and Stefan Zweig, because they’re masters at turning something ordinary into something profound and special, even in short stories.

Genre you dislike
I’m not really fond of women’s fiction, but dislike is too strong a word.

Character crush
Hahaha 🙂 I’ve had quite a few of those! The oldest crush was Pim Pandoer (from a Dutch detective series), but I also really like Jacob from the Twilight series.

Character you strongly identify with
Usually my own characters! But if I had to name one I haven’t written myself, I’d say Katniss Everdeen.

One character you want to bring to the real world
Let’s bring Mr. Darcey to the real world – that sounds like fun 🙂

What is your ideal reading space/environment
Outside, in the shade, in high summer somewhere in rural England.

Must-have books in a collection

These days, it’s very easy to complete collections since almost everything is for sale on the internet. But as a child, I was addicted to a Dutch sci-fi series called ‘Euro-5’ and I was always on the hunt for those paperbacks (until I found them all at once in a second-hand bookstore, which was sad in a way, because the hunt was over forever…)

Earliest memory of books and reading
I learned how to read when I was three. My earliest memory of reading a non-fiction book was when I was five and devoured a book about the moon landing. That’s when my fascination with astronomy started. My earliest memory of reading a fiction book was when I read ‘Jip en Janneke’ (a famous Dutch children’s book) to my classmates at age four. Everyone thought I was a freak, whahaha! they didn’t even know how to write their own names yet.

Weirdest book or reading experience

I don’t think I’ve ever read truly weird books, because if a book doesn’t click with me, I put it down and pick up another. So it never got too weird, so to speak!


Want to participate? Just give me a ping or write to me and I will get back to you with the questions and more 😀

Leave a Reply

