Reader’s Nook: QA with Sumeetha

The Perfect Groom by Sumeetha. Pic source: Goodreads

The Perfect Groom by Sumeetha. Pic source: Goodreads

About Sumeetha: Sumeetha is a budding author and I bumped into her on Goodreads. This is what I nicked from her bio on Goodreads to give you the knowledge of who she is and what she does.
Sumeetha Manikandan is a freelance writer and an author who loves to write and base her plots on the tambrahm community of Mylapore, Chennai. She is the author of ‘The Perfect Groom’ that has been a bestselling ebook on the top 50 charts of Amazon India ever since publication.An avid reader, she loves to read across different genres – romance, historical fiction, non-fiction, mystery, fantasy etc. A history buff to the core,
she is currently translatingPonniyinSelvan – the evergreen tamil classic epic history by KalkiKrishnamurthy into English.Married to film maker K.S. Manikandan, Sumeetha lives in Chennai, along with her six year old daughter.
I will be posting an interview with her. So stay tuned 🙂 Meanwhile, read what she has answered to my questionnaire on Reader’s Nook.

Name 5-10 of your most favourite books
Kalki Krishnamurthy’s Ponniyin Selvan
JK Rowling’s Harry Potter Series
George RR Martin’s Game of Thrones
K.M. Munshi’s Krishnavatara series
M.M Kay’s Far Pavillions
Ken Follet’s Pillars of Earth
Robert Galbraith’s Coromoran Strike Series
Zeenat Mahal’s Haveli
Sophie Kinsella’s Shopoholic series
Marian Keyes’s Watermelon
Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice
A book that you have re-read the most
Game of Thrones series of late.
Favourite authors and why
I have many. Kalki Krishnamurthy because he inspired me to write. P.G. Woodhouse for making me laugh when life was at its worst. George RR Martin for writing a story with characters who have worse troubles than I do 🙂
Genre you dislike
Nothing in particular. I read across different genres.
Character crush
Tyrion Lannister, Jaimie Lannister from Game of Thrones series.
Character you strongly identify with
Both my heroines Nithya and Lalitha from my books The Perfect Groom and Love, Again.
One character you want to bring to the real world
Vandiya Devan from Kalki’s Ponniyin Selvan
What is your ideal reading space/environment
My bedroom

Must-have books in a collection

Harry Potter series, PG Woodhouse’s Earl of Emsworth colllection, Gerald Durrell’s Corfu Triology.

Earliest memory of books and reading
K.M. Munshi’s Krishnavatara series was the first book I read. I have been hooked to books since then.
Weirdest book or reading experience
One of the many weird experience was with Game of Thrones series. I read through the first two books in the series hating Jaimie Lannister for trying to kill a child and when I started reading the third book, I fell in love with this character which was very weird because I was determined to hate him.

Liked what you read? Feel free to get in touch with me and I will feature you on Reader’s Nook 🙂

Leave a Reply

