Author Interview: Sumeetha

What inspired you to take up a pen and write your first book?

My first book was called ‘The Perfect Groom’. I was on my maternity break with a lot of time in hand and I wrote half a story about a real-life incident that had happened to a friend’s friend. I have written many such stories but I happened to see an ad from Indireads asking for manuscripts and I sent mine to them on a lark fully expecting a polite rejection. But the Publisher Naheed Hassan called me back with a book contract!

Since when have you been writing?

Ever since college (1999).

How long did it take for you to wrap up your book and what were the major hurdles that you came across?

It took me around six months to complete my first book. My second book Love, Again took a year to complete. I am a slow writer and very temperamental. I write whenever the mood strikes me. I had to juggle writing both the books amidst many writing projects that I take on as a freelance writer.

If not writing, then what would be your other calling?

If not writing I would have probably become an archeologist. I have been a history buff for very long.

Give young writers some tips on getting published.

Keep writing. Write because you are compelled to tell a story and not for any other reason. If your writing is good accolades and success will find its way to you.

Do you intend to write in future? If yes, then what would be the next book based on?

Yes. I am right now working on a period novel. I am also translating a tamil historical novel into english which I am planning to self publish.

Do you prefer writing on a computer or the old school way?

On the computer of course. If I write the old school way I wouldn’t understand half of what I write 🙂


I would like to thank Sumeetha for taking time out of her schedule and doing the interview. Want to get featured on my blog as an author? Contact me and I will get back to you at the earliest 🙂

Leave a Reply

