Reader’s Nook: QA with Susan Tarr

Image Source: Flickr

Image Source: Flickr

About Susan: Susan is a very lively person, whom I came across through Goodreads. She currently resides in New Zealand and I envy her for being a part of the place where Lord of The Rings was shot 🙂 Without shameless gushing about fandoms, let me quickly give you a link of her website – http://susan-tarr-author.webnode.com/. Go through her answers for Reader’s Nook.


1. Name 5-10 of your most favourite books
~~ God Knows by Joseph Heller
~~ Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres
~~ An Angel at my Table by Janet Frame (honoured New Zealand author on mental health)
~~ Spring Sonata by Bernice Rubens
~~ Geek Love
~~ Of Mice and Men & Pearl by John Steinbeck
~~ The Grass is Singing by Doris Lessing
~~ And of course, anything by Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult

2. A book that you have re-read the most

~~ I save all my favourite books, and read them all again.

3.Favourite authors and why

~~ John Steinbeck – His writing is both gentle and impacting.

~~ Louis de Bernieres

~~ Doris Lessing

4. Genre you dislike

~~ Erotica or cult

5. Character crush

~~ I don’t have a particular character crush, but there are a couple of people I wouldn’t mind crushing. The people who borrow my books and never return them. (I know, I should write a list!)

6. Character you strongly identify with

~~ In my books, Miranda and Bethany. They are part me and part my daughter.

7.One character you want to bring to the real world

~~ Both of my favourites are already in the real world. Miranda and Bethany from MIRANDA BAY & When the ROLLER COASTER Stops.

8. What is your ideal reading space/environment

~~ On my bed, nestled in pillows, coffee and nibbles, and my ereader.

9. Must-have books in a collection

~~ Mine!
PHENOMENA the Lost and Forgotten Children (Historic Fiction Mental Health)
MIRANDA BAY (Gorgeous young thing attempting to build up a tourism resort in New Zealand – she hasn’t a clue! Humorous drama)
JACK just an ordinary dog in the dog house (Jack, the dog, decides to write a diary about what really goes on in a boarding kennels. Humorous dog story)
When the ROLLER COASTER Stops (Another gorgeous young thing. Medical drama. Humorous. Inspirational)

All of my books are listed here: http://enovelauthorsatwork.com/susan-tarr/

10.Earliest memory of books and reading

~~ Famous Five and Secret Seven and of course Noddy and Big Ears. These were pretty much our required reading.

11. Weirdest book or reading experience

~~ Geek Love. I admired this old book, when I wasn’t in shock!, and I loaned it to someone – who now deserves to be crushed as above. Lol.


Love the series and want to be a part of it? Get in touch with me and I will have you featured! 🙂

Leave a Reply

