Reader’s Nook: QA with Akansha Varma

Image Source: Pixabay

Image Source: Pixabay

Bio: I’m a seventeen year old Indian, extremely shy, introvert and hate social gatherings, unless initiated by me. I am interested in English literature and I want to become either: 1) a journalist 2) an author 3) an architect. I want to live in New York and travel the world and after retirement, I want to live in the English country side.  I love laying down, and am very, very, very, very lazy. My favorite movies are Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge and Kal Ho Na Ho. And I’m a romantic at heart. I like One Tree Hill too. I am yet to skydive, deep sea dive, bungee jump and climb the Everest. There’s a lot to be done. And so little time.
You can learn more about me and read my stuff at https://akankshavarma.wordpress.com/. Have fun, and enjoy.
1. Name 5-10 of your most favourite books
The Book Thief, Harry Potter series, Those Pricey Thakur Girls, Hunger Games trilogy, Marley And Me, Perks Of Being A Wallflower and A Thousand Splendid Suns are my top ones.
2. A book that you have re-read the most.
Harry Potter or Those Pricey Thakur Girls.
3.Favourite authors and why
JK Rowling because she is godess. Ruskin Bond because his characters are lively, relatable and capture the essence of what he wants to convey. Agatha Christie because she creates suspense.
4. Genre you dislike
Not really dislike but unfathomable because I don’t relate with it: Science fiction.
5. Character crush
Dylan Shekhawat from Those Pricey Thakur Girls, Fred Weasley, Gale Hawthorne and Noah Calhoun. Also Laurie from Jo’s Boys.
6. Character you strongly identify with
Jo from Little Women.
7.One character you want to bring to the real world
Um, that’s a tough one. Severus Snape, Rudy Steiner, Liesel Meminger, Dylan Shekhawat, Katniss Everdeen, Four and Hermione Granger.
8. What is your ideal reading space/environment
Mostly, I read while travelling to my school. Otherwise, it is my bed, with a warm quilt, 2-3 pillows, air conditioned room without interruption.
9. Must-have books in a collection
The Book Thief. I would have said Harry Potter but I know a few people who don’t find it endearing. They say it’s beyond their imagination. The Book Thief on the other hand, will change your perspective entirely.
10.Earliest memory of books and reading
It’s not a memory rather it is about how I started reading in the first place. I was in class 4 when I had gone to a stationery shop to buy something for a project. There, my eyes on the red Famous Five and I found it interesting. I begged my father to buy me the book. My mother resented though since she thought that as I don’t read books, it’ll be pretty useless. My father consented though, and he brought that for me. After that, there was no stopping me.
11. Weirdest book or reading experience
I would describe my weirdest reading experience to be half Fifty Shades Of Grey that I read. I could read only half of it was because I didn’t have the heart to read the entire book, let alone the trilogy. I can assure you however, my grossing-out level is so low, I regularly threw up inside my mouth. It was disgusting. And the weird thing was I coudn’t stay away from it either. I just reread the part I already had read for some time, and then gave up entirely.

How about you share your book/reading experiences in this space? Let me know if you are up for it.

4 thoughts on “Reader’s Nook: QA with Akansha Varma

Leave a Reply

